VK Architects & Engineers is a design and engineering firm with more than 60 years of experience and expertise. As a multi-professional and interdisciplinary company, we offer a wide range of disciplines within the design and implementation process. In this, we direct our efforts to serving future clients from the public and private sectors, with a focus on a number of specific target markets.

VK offers all disciplines in Healthcare and Industry: from master planning and programming, through architecture and interior design, to stability, techniques, infrastructure and landscaping of the surroundings. The engineers and landscape designers in our Buildings and Public Space divisions are at the service of architects, clients commissioning the construction project and developers for master planning, programming, stability, techniques, infrastructure and landscaping. In addition, VK offers specialist disciplines for all target markets in their pursuit of ever higher quality, namely fire safety engineering, acoustical engineering and façade engineering.

Our professionals aim for an integrated approach in all our projects. This is a concept that integrates all disciplines, including the know-how of users, which offers advantages on all levels. Cost effectiveness and time savings during the design and construction process, a consolidation of the architectural identity, maintenance friendliness, flexibility, optimum convenience... This is how VK aspires to achieve a sustainable result in the long term and within a broad context. Designers, engineers and those commissioning the building project can call on our BREEAM professional and international assessors, and our EPIC reporters for the measurable aspects of sustainable construction.

Whatever role VK Architects & Engineers play, they take the interests of investors, future owners, public administrations, designers and end users to heart, from our commitment to your success.

Value by Design

  • 1952

    founder Hubert Van Kerckhove builds a reputation for his firm as a European reference in the development and engineering of industrial facilities

  • 1964

    Van Kerckhove registers as an architect, focussing mainly on the Belgian healthcare market

  • 1982

    Van Kerckhove takes over structural engineering firm Studium, highly active in coastal residential development.

  • 1990

    Son Peter Van Kerckhove becomes the sole manager as founder Hubert Van Kerckhove retires

  • 1998

    Van Kerckhove initiates a winning partnership with Richard Rogers for the Antwerp Law Courts architectural competition.

  • 2000

    Van Kerckhove takes over Brussels based building services firm Coget, aiming to get a firm foothold on the Brussels real estate market

  • 2002

    Van Kerckhove takes on a new identity as VK, with a clear focus in Healthcare and Buildings

  • 2002

    VK's healthcare aspirations are confirmed in winning the architectural competition for a 700+ bed greenfield hospital, GH Delta

  • 2004

    VK takes over Brussels based structural engineering firm Ingénieurs Associés, further enhancing its presence on the Brussels real estate market

  • 2005

    VK signs the largest contract for the engineering of a building in its history, as the engineering partner for the new NATO headquarters

  • 2007

    Laureate of another 700+ bed greenfield hospital, Saint Martin's in Mechelen, VK confirms its prominent position on the Belgian Healthcare-market

  • 2009

    VK confirms its international ambitions and explores possibilities in Vietnam, Kazakhstan and Russia.

  • 2010

    Paying hommage to its roots, VK renews its interest in Industry and Public Space

  • 2011

    Paul Corbeel is the new CEO of VK - Peter Van Kerckhove becomes chairman.

  • 2011

    VK wins the important “WAF award – Future Healthcare” for a competition design in Vietnam, in association with 2050 A+P en Nhat My

  • 2012

    VK's international efforts are rewarded as its first hospital design in Vietnam, the VinMec International Hospital, officially opens.

  • 2013

    In striving for ever higher quality of design, VK offers high-end advanced services, such as fire safety, acoustical and facade engineering.

  • 2013

    Winning the competition for the 900+ bed Grand Hopital de Charleroi proves VK is also recognized for its expertise in Wallonia.

  • 2015

    VK invests in the Walloon market and opens an office in Charleroi

MISSION

Understanding our clients’ needs is our passion

Since its first activities in 1952, VK evolved to a first-rate consulting practice in the construction sector. Today, it can pride itself on a rich experience, having some of the best projects in our target markets as a reference.


During more than 60 years, VK has continually focused on designing and engineering in healthcare, education, real estate and industry. Such an inheritance gives us the needed insight and trust, to help our clients on a much broader base. The designs we create for them, implement and bring to perfection the processes that lead to their success.



We want to be a strategic partner in realising your goals

Individual intelligence and collective experience are the trademarks of our organisation. Combined, these assets give us an irresistible advantage : we understand your business. More so, we want you to be successful. This approach starts with our excellent proficiency and is completed with economic and market knowledge.


Thanks to our experience in several sectors and with various institutions, we are able to bring creativity to conventional solutions. Clients trust us not in the least because of our technical knowhow, flexibility and vision. We know how to make it work. In getting an insight in your corporate system - facilities, equipment, procedures, people - and in what defines your success, we have a broader view than an outsider, and often an insider, traditionally has.


The only meaningful proof of our success is the success of our clients. We consider you to be a business partner, investing our experience and energy as if we were stake holders in your company. As such, our relationship endures through time and is even strengthened as we give attention to large and little needs.


Many of our clients are leaders in their business, setting standards and wanting above all, to compete, make progress and gain the upper hand. We consider their mission to be ours, and integrate it into every detail of our projects.



We continually improve ourselves, so we can offer you professional advice and innovative solutions

To fulfill the ambitions of our mission, we have to foresee the future and anticipate it. This demands a profound insight into the forces of our target markets. That is why we continually are on the alert for movements and trends in the market. We want to know the sector as well as our clients do.


We are an ambitious corporation and constantly recrute new people; most of them at the brink of their career. We see it as our duty to train them to their full potential. As such, they are integrated into the corporate culture and they can contribute to our commitment towards our clients. We consider ourselves to be a learning organization, always looking for great people.


Values

Sustainability

VK believes in sustainability in an intelligent way, not only focusing on materials and techniques, but on a sustainable solution as a whole. From the first steps of a project, VK aspires to a strategic partnership with all concerned parties, putting the needs of the client first, now and in the future. The result is a well thought-out design, originating in heightened efficiency and continuous consultations. This is our way of insuring a sustainable cooperation with the client.

Competence & experience

VK invests in highly qualified and ambitious collaborators, willing to do their best for the success of the company and of the client. Through a fervent personnel management, the qualities of each collaborator are optimized. As a learning organization, we provide for a training scheme, completing our years of experience with knowledge of new trends and developments. This policy enables VK to offer the client a team of experts, willing to contribute to his success.

Teamwork

VK owes its success to the talent, commitment and eagerness to learn of its collaborators. Their skills as designer, technician or administrative employee make all the difference when involved in large-scale and complex projects. This capital of high importance is put to the full service of the most important team member, the client: with sophisticated working procedures and systems a solid team is composed for each new project, corresponding with the wishes and expectations of the client.

Entrepreneurship

VK can look back on a corporate history that speaks of strong management. The success of VK offers the client the professionalism and steadiness of a large company. On the other hand, the organization structure accentuates small teams, guaranteeing flexibility, accessibility and quick action. In the future, VK wants to continue this successful combination, through its understanding of market mechanisms and technological developments.

Serviceability

VK has an eye for the specific objectives of the individual client, who starts a project with certain expectations. VK aspires to meet these expectations, as the satisfaction of the client determines our success. But in the true spirit of serviceability, we go one step further. We look beyond the wishes of the client and complete them, based on our anticipation and years of experience. There are no standard assignments for VK.

Creativity

VK doesn’t confuse creativity with style. Creativity and originality aren’t limited to the preliminary design, but are applied for the entire concept and throughout the entire construction phase. As often, our inventiveness is sharpened by contact with others. New design solutions are constructed by collaboration with foreign partners and the international gaze of our collaborators. The touch stone for our creativity lies with the client, who presents us with new challenges.

Transparance

VK communicates in all openness. A transparent working method allows for interaction and anticipation, resulting in heightened creativity. We offer the client a sharp look on the project progress, giving him the opportunity to check whether we meet his expectations. This not only establishes a relationship of trust between all concerned parties, but also increases the efficiency of the design and construction process.

Ethics

VK is independent of third parties. We want a collaboration with clients, collegues and other construction partners, aimed at the future. Only relationships built on trust withstand the complex dialogue of a construction process and guarantee a successful conclusion of a project.

VK Architects & Engineers est un bureau d'études et de conception qui dispose de plus de 60 années d'expérience et de savoir-faire. Professionnelle et interdisciplinaire, notre entreprise propose un large éventail de disciplines dans le cadre du processus de conception et de réalisation. Ce faisant, nous ciblons nos efforts sur les maîtres d'ouvrage des secteurs publics et privés, en mettant l'accent sur un certain nombre de marchés cibles spécifiques.

Dans les secteurs des soins de santé et de l'industrie, VK propose toutes les disciplines : qu'il s'agisse du plan directeur et de la programmation, en passant par l'architecture et l'intérieur, jusqu'à la stabilité, la technique, l'infrastructure et l'aménagement environnemental. En termes de Bâtiments et d'espaces publics, nos ingénieurs et concepteurs-paysagistes sont au service des architectes, maîtres d'ouvrage et développeurs pour le plan directeur, la programmation, la stabilité, les aspects techniques, l'infrastructure et l'aménagement environnemental. De plus, VK propose aussi quelques disciplines spécialisées pour tous les marchés-cibles afin de parvenir à une qualité toujours plus élevée : ingénierie de la sécurité incendie, ingénierie acoustique, ingénierie de façade.

Dans chaque projet, nos professionnels s'efforcent à trouver une approche intégrée. Un concept intégrant toutes les disciplines, y compris le savoir-faire des utilisateurs, offre des avantages à tous les niveaux. Qu'il s'agisse du rapport qualité-prix et de la réduction des délais durant le processus de conception et de construction, d'un renforcement de l'identité architecturale, de la facilité d'entretien, de la flexibilité, du confort optimal... VK aspire ainsi à un résultat durable à long terme et dans un contexte large. Pour les aspects mesurables de la construction durable, les concepteurs, ingénieurs et maîtres d'ouvrage peuvent faire appel à nos professionnels BREEAM, nos conseillers internationaux et nos rapporteurs-PEB.

Quel que soit son rôle, VK Architects & Engineers prend à cœur les intérêts des investisseurs, des maîtres d'ouvrage, des pouvoirs publics, des concepteurs et des utilisateurs finaux. Un engagement qui garantit votre succès.

Value by Design

  • 1952

    Le fondateur, Hubert Van Kerckhove construit la réputation de son entreprise en tant que référence européenne dans le développement et l'ingénierie d’installations industrielles.

  • 1964

    Van Kerckhove s’inscrit à l’Ordre des Architectes et se concentre principalement sur le marché belge des soins de santé.

  • 1982

    Van Kerckhove reprend le bureau de stabilité Studium, très actif dans le développement résidentiel à la côte.

  • 1990

    Retraite de Hubert Van Kerckhove. Son fils Peter Van Kerckhove devient le seul directeur.

  • 1998

    Van Kerckhove initie un partenariat gagnant avec Richard Rogers pour le concours d’architecture du Palais de Justice d’Anvers.

  • 2000

    Van Kerckhove reprend le bureau d’études en techniques spéciales Coget dans le but de renforcer sa présence sur le marché de l'immobilier bruxellois.

  • 2002

    L’identité de Van Kerckhove change et devient ‘VK’, avec une orientation claire vers les marchés Healthcare et Buildings.

  • 2002

    Les aspirations de VK dans le secteur healthcare se confirment en remportant le concours d’architecture de l’Hôpital Général Delta, un nouvel hôpital à construire de plus de 700 lits.

  • 2004

    VK reprend le bureau de stabilité Ingénieurs Associés, et continue à renforcer sa présence sur le marché de l’immobilier bruxellois.

  • 2005

    VK signe le plus gros contrat de son histoire pour l’ingénierie du nouveau quartier général de l’OTAN.

  • 2007

    VK est une nouvelle fois lauréat pour la construction d’un tout nouvel hôpital, l’Hôpital Saint-Martin à Malines, et confirme sa position importante sur le marché healthcare en Belgique.

  • 2009

    VK confirme ses ambitions internationales et explore les possibilités au Vietnam, Kazakhstan et Russie.

  • 2010

    VK renoue avec ses racines et renouvelle son intérêt pour les marchés de l’industrie et de l’espace public.

  • 2011

    Paul Corbeel devient le nouveau CEO de VK - Peter Van Kerckhove en devient le Président.

  • 2011

    VK remporte le prestigieux “WAF award – Future Healthcare” pour la conception d’un projet de concours au Vietnam, en association avec 2050 A+P et Nhat My.

  • 2012

    Les efforts de VK au niveau international sont récompensés avec la réalisation du premier hôpital au Vietnam, l’Hôpital International VinMec.

  • 2013

    Dans ses efforts pour améliorer toujours plus la qualité de la conception, VK propose des services haut de gamme, telles que la sécurité incendie, l’ingénierie acoustique et de l'ingénierie de façade.

  • 2013

    En gagnant le concours pour le Grand Hôpital de Charleroi (900 lits), VK démontre que son expertise est également reconnue en Wallonie.

  • 2015

    VK investit dans le marché wallon et ouvre un bureau à Charleroi.

MISSION

Notre passion, c’est de comprendre les besoins de nos clients

Depuis le début de ses activités en 1952, VK s’est développé pour devenir une entreprise de conseil de premier plan dans le secteur de la construction. Aujourd’hui, elle peut s’appuyer sur une riche expérience avec quelques-uns des meilleurs bâtiments de nos marchés cibles comme référence.


Pendant 60 ans, VK s’est axé sur la conception et l’ingénierie dans les soins de santé, l’enseignement, l’immobilier et l’industrie. Un tel héritage nous procure les connaissances et la confiance nécessaires pour aider nos clients sur une base beaucoup plus large. Les projets que nous réalisons pour eux mettent en œuvre et perfectionnent le développement des processus qui les mènent au succès.



Notre but est de fonctionner comme un partenaire stratégique dans la réalisation des objectifs de nos clients

L’intelligence individuelle et l’expérience collective sont la marque de fabrique de notre organisation. Combinées, ces compétences procurent un avantage déterminant: nous comprenons votre business. Plus encore, nous accordons une grande importance à votre succès commercial. Cette attitude repose avant tout sur notre expertise professionnelle exceptionnelle, complétée par notre connaissance économique du marché. L’expérience que nous avons accumulée dans les différentes branches de l’industrie et avec plusieurs institutions nous permet d’insuffler de la créativité dans les solutions conventionnelles. Les clients nous font surtout confiance pour notre bagage technique, notre flexibilité et notre capacité d’anticipation. La seule preuve tangible de notre succès, c’est le succès de nos clients. Nous vous considérons comme un partenaire commercial et investissons notre expérience et notre énergie comme si nous étions des actionnaires de votre entreprise.


Nous savons ce qui fonctionne. Grâce à notre compréhension globale de la marche de votre entreprise - facilités, équipement, procédures, aspects humains - et de ce qui contribue à votre succès, nous plaçons votre projet dans une perspective plus large que toute personne extérieure, et même bien souvent que tout membre de votre organisation ne le fait traditionnellement.


De cette manière, nos relations résistent à l’usure du temps et sont même renforcées par notre attachement à vos besoins, les plus grands comme les plus futiles. Beaucoup de nos clients sont leader dans leur segment; ils établissent les normes, leur objectif est de surpasser la concurrence, de progresser et de vaincre. Nous considérons que leur mission est la nôtre, ce que nous laissons transparaître dans chaque détail de nos projets.


Nous nous perfectionnons sans cesse afin de pouvoir vous fournir des conseils professionnels et des solutions innovantes

Pour réaliser notre ambitieuse mission, nous devons pouvoir prévoir ce qu’apportera l’avenir et répondre à ces défis. Cela exige une connaissance approfondie des forces de nos marchés cibles. C’est pourquoi nous restons constamment attentifs aux mouvements et aux tendances qui s’y dessinent. Notre but est de connaître le secteur aussi bien que nos clients.


Nous sommes une entreprise qui désire croître, c’est pourquoi nous recrutons sans cesse de nouvelles forces vives. La plupart de ces nouveaux collaborateurs sont au début de leur carrière. Nous considérons qu’il en va de notre devoir que de leur procurer une formation optimale. Ils sont ainsi intégrés dans la culture de l’entreprise et peuvent donc contribuer à notre engagement envers nos clients. C’est pourquoi nous nous considérons comme une organisation apprenante qui est toujours à la recherche des meilleurs collaborateurs.


Values

Durabilité

VK croit en la durabilité intelligente, celle qui n’est pas seulement axée sur les matériaux et les techniques, mais sur une solution globale durable. Dès les premières amorces d’un projet, l’ambition de VK est de mettre en œuvre un partenariat stratégique réunissant toutes les parties impliquées dans le cadre duquel une place centrale est accordée aux besoins du client, présents et futurs. Le résultat: un projet bien pensé, fruit d’une efficacité optimale et de concertations permanentes. C’est pour nous la seule manière de garantir la durabilité de nos relations avec le client.

Compétences et expérience

VK investit dans des collaborateurs hautement qualifiés et ambitieux qui affichent la volonté de s’impliquer dans le succès de l’entreprise et du client. Une politique de ressources humaines dynamique nous permet d’optimiser toutes les qualités de chaque collaborateur. Organisation apprenante, nous établissons un plan de formation afin de compléter l’expérience que nous accumulons au fil des ans par la connaissance des nouvelles tendances et des développements les plus récents. Cette politique permet à VK de proposer à ses clients une équipe d’experts désireux de contribuer à son succès.

Travail d'équipe

VK doit son succès au talent, à l’enthousiasme et à l’avidité de ses collaborateurs. Leurs capacités en tant que dessinateur, technicien ou employé administratif font la différence lors de projets complexes ou de grande envergure. Ce capital important est entièrement mis à la disposition du client: via des processus de travail élaborés, nous composons une équipe solide pour chaque nouveau projet.

Esprit d’entreprendre

L’histoire de VK témoigne d’un management fort. Son succès offre aux clients le professionnalisme et la ténacité d’une grande entreprise. La structure organisationnelle met l’accent sur des petites équipes de sorte que nous puissions garantir la flexibilité, l’accessibilité et un fonctionnement rapide.

Dévouement

VK est attentif aux objectifs spécifiques du client car celui-ci ne se lance pas dans un projet sans certaines attentes. Ces attentes, VK met tout en œuvre pour les concrétiser, car c’est la satisfaction du client qui détermine notre succès. Mais nous allons plus loin dans le véritable esprit du dévouement. Nous allons au-delà des souhaits du client et nous les complétons grâce à notre capacité d’anticipation et à notre longue expérience. Chez VK, il n’existe pas de mission standard.

Créativité

VK ne confond pas créativité et style. La créativité et l’originalité ne peuvent se limiter à des projets schématiques mais doivent s’appliquer au concept global et à toute la durée du processus de construction. Comme souvent, notre inventivité s’affine au contact des autres. Ce sont nos collaborations avec des partenaires étrangers et le regard international de nos collaborateurs qui nous permettent bien souvent de trouver des solutions parfaitement adaptées aux projets. La pierre de touche de notre créativité se trouve chez nos clients qui nous réservent sans cesse de nouveaux défis.

Transparence

VK communique en toute ouverture. Une méthode de travaill transparente permet l’interaction et l’anticipation, conditions nécessaires à la créativité. Nous offrons au client un regard critique sur le déroulement du projet de manière à ce qu’il puisse à tout moment confronter notre apport à ses attentes. Non seulement cette méthode de travail crée une confiance entre les différents partenaires, mais elle améliore aussi l’efficacité du processus de conception et de production.

Ethique

VK est indépendant. Nous sommes favorables à une collaboration orientée vers l’avenir avec nos clients, collègues et autres partenaires dans les projets. Seules les relations construites sur la confiance résistent au dialogue complexe d’un projet de construction et sont à même de garantir la bonne fin du projet.