Mission engineering of a technology campus
Client Barco
Architect M.& J.M Jaspers Eyers & Partners
Dates 2012 - 2016

The technology corporation Barco, with offices worldwide, wanted to expand and renew its campus in Kortrijk, Belgium. Besides offices, there is an R&D centre with labs as well as various personnel facilities: a sports centre, meeting centre, auditorium, restaurant, … Jaspers-Eyers is the architect of the new campus, VK took charge of the engineering.

The design shows a circular volume, the eye-catcher, and a number of rectangular volumes that are connected by galleries. Engineering for a technology firm calls for innovating and ground-breaking solutions. So this is an energy-efficient project, aiming at E60 and K40 for energy and insulation levels, thanks to a combination of various measures.

Climate control occurs at a 100% variable output, with low temperature heating and high temperature cooling. Heat recuperation wheels maximally use the energy from the return air. A hot water circulation system distributes the heat surplus of certain departments, like the R&D centre, among departments with a heat demand.

The ventilation groups are also be able to work with 100% outdoor air in a free cooling regime. Also, heat gains from the sun are reduced: in the circular building with aluminium solar protection that simultaneously functions as an architectural element, in the other volumes with an alternating façade modulation.

At the same time, natural light is optimally used thanks to maximum glazing, partly by means of floor-to-floor windows. In addition, on 2 floors the circular building has a glass façade of 155 and 108 metres. Daylight dimming and motion detectors limit the energy consumption for lighting, as well as reduce the internal heat gains.

For the water management, permeable materials are used in the car park and landscaping. A large water basin not only is a visually anchor point, but also functions as a buffer. Green roofs on each building also help buffer pluvial water.

Related news articles

  • 24 March 2016 Barco moves to brand new campus Read more
  • 14 April 2015 Construction Barco headquarters is getting on very well Read more

Mission ingénierie d’un campus technologique
Client Barco
Architecte M.& J.M Jaspers Eyers & Partners
Dates 2012 - 2016

L’entreprise technologique Barco, implantée dans le monde entier, souhaitait étendre et rénover son campus situé à Courtrai. Un centre R&D avec des labos est installé à côté des bureaux ainsi que différentes installations réservées au personnel : centre sportif, meeting center, auditorium, restaurant,…Jaspers-Eyers est l’architecte du nouveau campus, VK était responsable de l’ingénierie complète.

Un volume circulaire est utilisé en point de mire et une série de volumes rectangulaires sont reliés entre eux par des galeries. Réaliser l’ingénierie d’une entreprise technologique demande des solutions innovantes. Le projet est donc également un projet économe en énergie visant les niveaux E60 et K40 grâce à la combinaison de différentes mesures.

La climatisation est réalisée au moyen d’un débit variable à 100%, avec un chauffage à basse température et un refroidissement à haute température. Des roues de récupération de chaleur utilisent au maximum l’énergie de l’air récupéré. Un système de circulation d’eau chaude distribue la chaleur excédentaire de certains départements, comme le centre R&D, à travers les départements où la chaleur est nécessaire.

Les groupes de ventilation peuvent fonctionner avec 100% d’air extérieur dans un régime free cooling. Les gains de chaleur solaires sont réduits: dans le bâtiment circulaire, grâce à l’aluminium qui fonctionne également comme un élément architectural, dans les autres volumes avec une modulation de façade en alternance.

La lumière naturelle est utilisée de manière optimale grâce à l’emploi de vitrage réalisé en partie avec des portes fenêtres. Par ailleurs, le bâtiment circulaire est muni sur 2 étages d’une façade en verre de 155 et 108 mètres. Une gradation de la lumière du jour et des détecteurs de mouvement limitent la consommation d’énergie pour l’éclairage et réduisent les gains de chaleur internes.

Pour la gestion de l’eau, des matériaux perméables sont utilisés dans le parking et dans l’aménagement paysager. Une large pièce d’eau constitue non seulement un point d’ancrage visuel, mais fonctionne également comme tampon. Les toits verts sur chaque bâtiment permettent également de collecter l’eau de pluie.

Actualités associées

  • 24 March 2016 Barco déménage vers un tout nouveau campus Plus d'infos
  • 14 April 2015 Les travaux du chantier Barco avancent à grands pas Plus d'infos