Mission design and realisation of a new post sorting center
Client Katoen Natie
Architect VK
Dates 2013 - 2017
Surface 60000 m2

In 2011, bpost, the postal services of Belgium, organised a public assignment for a new post sorting center in Brussels. The temporary association Katoen Natie – Ond. Jan de Nul – Envisan got the assignment. VK takes charge of the design and realisation of the largest post sorting center in Belgium.

The project is a complete solution, integrating into one building block the letter and parcel treatment of bpost (the postal service in Belgium), both the national and regional sorting. This combination on one terrain and in one building gives bpost many advantages with regard to synergy.

The entire project consists of a sorting area, mezzanine, office building and roof car park. The long post sorting center will have an appealing front through the office building, showing a distinct architecture. On the left, a spiral ramp with the same architectural language as the office building gives access to the car park. The ramp and office building enwrap the entire block and give it a density. The facades of the sorting building will be clad with a concrete plinth and austere aluminum sandwich panels.

The office building consists of two parts. The beamlike ground floor interlocks with the sorting center. The façade has glazed and opaque parts in concrete panels. In front are frames in vertical steel strips at irregular distances. Transparency is regulated by varying the distance between the strips. On the upper floors, the volume is visually disconnected from the sorting center by means of a corbelling at both sides. The glass curtain façade has interchanging glazed and opaque parts. A horizontal brim in between floors prevents a possible fire from spreading and provides some shade on the glazed parts. Glazing is maximized in order to optimize daylight in the interior spaces.

The project is completely designed and followed up with Building Information Modeling.

Related news articles

  • 06 June 2016 Drone overlooks new sorting center bpost Read more
  • 11 March 2016 Construction bpost in full swing Read more

Mission conception et réalisation d’un centre de tri postal
Client Katoen Natie
Architecte VK
Dates 2013 - 2017
Surface 60000 m2

En 2011, bpost a organisé un appel d’offres public pour un nouveau centre de tri à Bruxelles. L’association momentanée Katoen Natie – Ond. Jan de Nul – Envisan a remporté la mission. VK est en charge de la conception et de la réalisation du plus grand centre de tri du pays.

Le projet propose une solution complète assurant sur un seul site et dans un seul bâtiment, le traitement national et régional des colis et des lettres. Cette combinaison offre à bpost de nombreux avantages en termes de synergie.

L’ensemble se compose d’un centre de tri, d’une mezzanine, d’un immeuble de bureaux et d’un parking sur le toit. Le centre de tri étiré en longueur a un visage attrayant grâce à l’immeuble de bureaux qui se distingue par son architecture. A gauche des bureaux, une rampe en spirale donne accès au parking. Le bâtiment en spirale et l'immeuble de bureaux enveloppent l'ensemble et lui donnent une identité propre. Les façades du centre de tri sont revêtues d’une plinthe en béton et de panneaux sandwich en aluminium sobres.

L’immeuble de bureaux est composé de deux parties. Le rez-de-chaussée en forme de poutre se connecte au centre de tri. La façade est composée de parties en verre et de parties opaques dans des panneaux en béton avec en face, un cadre composé de lamelles verticales en acier et disposées de manière irrégulière. La transparence est contrôlée par une variation de la distance des lamelles. Une bordure horizontale entre les étages empêche la propagation d’un incendie éventuel et procure l’ombre nécessaire sur les parties vitrées. Le vitrage est utilisé au maximum afin de faire pénétrer la lumière naturelle et de rendre les lieux agréables.

Le projet est entièrement conçu et suivi avec le système BIM (Building Information Modeling).

Actualités associées

  • 06 June 2016 Un drone survole le nouveau centre de tri de bpost Plus d'infos
  • 11 March 2016 Le chantier bpost bat son plein Plus d'infos