Mission new offices complex with hospitality facilities
Client BEFIMMO
Architect M. & J.M. Jaspers - Eyers & Partners
Dates 2015 - 2020
Numbers 353 parking places
Surface 60000 m2

Quatuor is an emblematic high-rise building, to be constructed at the entrance of the Brussels North district. Four building units encircle a public green space, which sits on top of an underground car park.

Two transparent ground floors will house restaurants and catering facilities, a conference center, a kindergarten and retail. With an open base, the central square becomes part of city-life. Open floor plans around solid central cores provide extreme flexibility.

VK’s façade engineers collaborated with the architects for the facade. The perpendicular fins provide adequate shading, reducing cooling loads, while allowing for an abundance of daylight and a 360° view of the surrounding city. Other passive measures include a highly insulated building shell, triple glazing with passive ventilation, and excellent airtightness. The overall insulation level complies with the Passive Standard of Brussels Capital Region.

For the technical installations, VK focussed on passive measures and low-energy systems. Renewables are optimally applied, such as geothermal energy in combination with a brine heat pump and high-efficiency chillers. Other renewable sources are tapped through photovoltaic cells on the tower roofs, rainwater buffers and grey water re-usage. In addition, energy demand is reduced to a minimum, in optimally applying high-efficiency equipment and energy recuperation. A building automation system monitors all installations and supports facility management.

High-rise buildings demand specific installations regarding fire safety. All floors are equipped with a fire detection system, sprinklers, smoke evacuation in the staircases and an overall lightning-protection outside and in the distribution panels.

The project received a BREEAM Excellent score at design stage.

Watch the video on Vimeo

www.quatuor.brussels

Mission nouveau complexe d'immeubles de bureaux avec facilités commerciales
Client BEFIMMO
Architecte M. & J.M. Jaspers - Eyers & Partners
Dates 2015 - 2020
Chiffres 353 places de stationnement
Surface 60000 m2

Quatuor est un immeuble emblématique qui sera construit à l’entrée du quartier nord de Bruxelles. Quatre unités de bâtiments entourent un espace vert public, situé au-dessus d’un parking souterrain.

Deux rez-de-chaussée transparents abriteront des restaurants, des installations horeca, un centre de conférences, un jardin d’enfants et des commerces. Avec une base ouverte, la place centrale s’intègre à la vie urbaine. Les étages ouverts autour de solides noyaux centraux offrent une flexibilité énorme.

Les experts de façade de VK ont collaboré avec les architectes pour concevoir la façade. Les ailettes perpendiculaires offrent un ombrage adéquat, réduisant les charges de refroidissement, tout en permettant une abondance de lumière du jour et une vue à 360 °sur la ville. Les autres mesures passives comprennent une enveloppe de bâtiment très isolée, des fenêtres triple vitrage avec ventilation passive et une excellente étanchéité à l’air. Le niveau d’isolation global est conforme à la norme passive de la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale.

Pour les installations techniques, VK a mis l’accent sur les mesures passives et les systèmes à faible consommation d’énergie. Les énergies renouvelables sont appliquées de manière optimale, comme la géothermie en combinaison avec une pompe à chaleur saumure et des refroidisseurs à haute efficacité. D’autres sources renouvelables sont exploitées grâce aux cellules photovoltaïques sur les toits de la tour, aux tampons d’eau de pluie et à la réutilisation des eaux grises. La demande en énergie est également réduite au minimum, en appliquant de manière optimale les équipements à haut rendement et la récupération d’énergie. Un système d’automatisation des bâtiments surveille et gère toutes les installations.

Les immeubles de grande hauteur nécessitent des installations spécifiques en matière de sécurité incendie. Tous les sols sont équipés d’un système de détection incendie, de sprinklers, d’une évacuation des fumées dans les escaliers et d’une protection générale contre la foudre à l’extérieur et dans les panneaux de distribution.

Le projet a obtenu un score BREEAM Excellent au stade de la conception.

Voir le film sur Vimeo

www.quatuor.brussels