Mission engineering for a new mixed-use urban development
Client BEFIMMO
Architect 51N4E, AUC, M. & J.M. Jaspers - Eyers & Partners
Dates 2018 - 2023
Numbers 127 apartments
Surface 110000 m2

The Flemish authorities, after a public tender, choose for the ZIN project by awarding the contract for their new offices to Befimmo earlier this week. The ambitious ZIN project demonstrates a new way of working and combines it with various other functions in an innovative way. ZIN comprises approx. 110,000 sqm and involves 70,000 sqm of offices, 5,000 sqm of coworking space, 127 apartments, 240 hotel rooms and a public parking.

Situated in the North area, where VK also engineered some iconic buildings like Ellipse, Zenith and North Galaxy, it will redevelop the WTC I & II site and give a new impetus to the urban ecosystem.

51N4E, Jaspers-Eyers and AUC were appointed for the architectural design. VK Architects & Engineers will be responsible for M&E engineering, fire safety engineering and sustainability. The 3,900 officials of the Flemish Authorities will be working in ZIN as from 2023.

Adaptable building

The bar is also raised with regard to circularity. The existing building will be reused as much as possible. The underground floors and the circulation cores are preserved. The parts to be demolished will get a new life. Up to 95% of the material and equipment will be reused or recycled.

The circular thought is not just based on reuse and certification, it is also departs from a future-proof perspective for the building on a very long term. The base structure of the building will be identical for all functions and as such will offer great flexibility. ZIN not only focuses on today’s needs, but in the future can also be adapted to tomorrow’s needs.

Sustainable design

User-comfort and sustainability go hand in hand. An intelligent façade ensures comfort in an energy-friendly way. Solar panels on the outside provide energy as well as solar protection. The opening windows let fresh air enter during the day, and allow for natural cooling at night.

The building’s roof and the greenhouse are also equipped with solar panels. Heat and cold are drawn from the soil with a geothermal system, covering over 60% of energy needs. Energy exchange between the various functions will reduce energy consumption even more.

Mission l'ingénierie d'un nouveau développement urbain d'usage mixte
Client BEFIMMO
Architecte 51N4E, AUC, M. & J.M. Jaspers - Eyers & Partners
Dates 2018 - 2023
Chiffres 127 appartements
Surface 110000 m2

Le projet pour l’Administration flamande, appelé « ZIN in No(o)rd », est un projet ambitieux. Le site de ZIN, totalement en ligne avec les nouvelles façons de travailler, réunit diverses fonctions d’une manière innovante. Le projet se développera sur environ 110.000 m². Il s’agit de 70.000 m² de bureaux, 5.000 m² de coworking, 127 appartements, 240 chambres d’hôtel, ainsi que des espaces de sport, loisirs, de restauration et de commerces.

Situé au coeur du quartier Nord, où VK était aussi l’ingénieur de quelques tours prominents telles que Ellypse, Zenith et North Galaxy, ZIN est le redéveloppement du site de l’actuel WTC 1 et 2 et donnera une nouvel élan à l’écosystème urbain.

Pour la conception, Befimmo a choisi l’équipe d’architectes 51N4E, Jaspers Eyers Architects et l’AUC. VK Architects & Engineers prend en charge l’ingénierie M&E, l’ingénierie anti-incendie et la durabilité. Environ 3.900 fonctionnaires flamands trouveront en ZIN in No(o)rd un nouveau lieu de travail à partir de 2023.

Construction modulable

La circularité est également un aspect très important du projet ZIN. Le bâtiment existant sera conservé au maximum. Les étages souterrains et les noyaux de circulation seront préservés. Les éléments qui seront démolis recevront une nouvelle vie. Globalement, c’est plus de 95% de tous les matériaux et équipements existants qui seront récupérés ou recyclés.

La pensée circulaire n’est pas seulement basée sur la récupération et la certification, elle repose également sur une perspective d’avenir à très long terme pour le bâtiment. La structure de base de l’immeuble sera identique pour les différentes fonctions et offrira ainsi une grande flexibilité. ZIN ne s’axe pas uniquement sur les besoins d’aujourd’hui, il pourra dans le futur également être adapté à ceux de demain.

Conception durable

Le confort de l’utilisateur et la durabilité vont de pair. Une façade intelligente garantira le confort d’une manière économe en énergie. Des panneaux solaires au niveau des façades fourniront de l’énergie ainsi qu’une protection solaire et les fenêtres ouvrantes offriront de l’air frais le jour et un refroidissement naturel la nuit.

Les toitures du bâtiment et de la serre seront également équipées de panneaux solaires. La chaleur et le froid seront extraits du sol à l’aide d’un système de géothermie, qui couvrira plus de 60% des besoins énergétiques. Un échange d’énergie entre les différentes fonctions permettra de réduire encore davantage les consommations.