thumb image

Architecture

VK applies architecture in Healthcare and Industry to shape solutions. Countless questions, challenges, limitations and opportunities arise during a project. Master planning and programming provide direction and clarity and present solutions and concepts. Architecture allows our designers to shape those concepts.

In Healthcare, the concepts combine the efficient organisation of care with a clear focus on wellbeing. On the one hand, our designs work for organisations that operate within an economic reality and have a clear vision for real estate. Thanks to years of experience in the care sector, our architects design extremely functional and flexible environments with attention to their affordability. On the other hand, care is the perfect example of a sector where human dignity comes first. Therefore VK also focuses on the resident or patient, but pays equal attention to a high-performance working environment and pleasant places to stay for family, visitors and local people.

To reconcile the two aspects, VK is committed to the idea of the ‘healing environment’. We are convinced that the quality of the surroundings contributes to the physical and mental healing process for patients and to the wellbeing of residents and staff. Our care designers therefore also apply different parameters for a high-quality care environment on the basis of research-based design: from walking distances and clear layout to patient safety, ergonomics, comfort and room design to daylight, way-finding, self-reliance and privacy.

Then there is the ‘genius loci’, the integration with the immediate surroundings and nature, a crucial aspect of enriching architecture. Permeability, low threshold and accessibility: these concepts in urban planning promote a holistic experience, further embedding in society and community building.

Our designers believe in integral design: the contribution of all the building disciplines as well as that of all the stakeholders provides vital information. This enables the project to have a more efficient design and implementation process. That is not just good news in terms of construction time and cost. It also allows optimisation of the entire life cycle cost, as a contribution to a wider socially and economically sustainable environment. The application of BIM design software reinforces and stimulates this interdisciplinary approach, with a future-oriented care building as the successful final result.

VK is a member of the Order of Architects (OA), the Flemish Architects Association (NAV), the American Institute of Architects (AIA), the Union of Dutch Architects (BNA), Designers International (DI), the International Academy of Design & Health (IADH) and the G30.

thumb image

Architecture

VK applique l’architecture dans le Healthcare et Industry pour donner forme à des solutions. Un projet suscite de nombreux questions, défis, limitations et opportunités. La planification générale et la programmation donnent une orientation et des éclaircissements, proposent des solutions et des concepts. Via l’architecture, nos concepteurs donnent forme à ces concepts.

Dans Healthcare, nous combinons ces concepts d’organisation efficiente des soins avec un intérêt premier pour le bien-être. D’une part, nos concepts fonctionnent pour des instances qui opèrent dans une réalité économique et ont une vision claire de l’immobilier. Grâce à leurs longues années d’expérience dans le secteur des soins, nos architectes créent des environnements éminemment fonctionnels et flexibles avec une attention à leur viabilité financière. D’autre part, les soins constituent le secteur par excellence où la dignité humaine tient le rôle principal. VK accorde donc une place centrale au résident ou au patient, mais accorde autant d’attention à un cadre de travail performant et à des lieux de séjour agréables pour la famille, les visiteurs et les habitants du quartier.

Pour concilier ces deux aspects, VK accorde une grande importante au concept de healing environment. Nous sommes convaincus que la qualité du cadre contribue au processus de guérison physique et mentale des patients, ainsi qu’au bien-être des résidents et du personnel. Pour un environnement de soins qualitatif, nos concepteurs de soins recourent donc à des paramètres divers sur la base du research based design : depuis les distances à parcourir et la clarté de structure jusqu’à la sécurité patient en passant par l’ergonomie, le confort et l’agencement des chambres, la lumière naturelle, l’orientation, l’autonomie et l’intimité.

En outre, le « genius loci », l’intégration avec les alentours immédiats et la nature, constitue un aspect crucial pour une architecture enrichissante. Guéabilité, facilité d’accès, accessibilité : ces concepts urbanistiques promeuvent un vécu global, un ancrage sociétal accru et cimentent la communauté.

Nos architectes assurent une conception intégrale : la contribution de toutes les disciplines de construction ainsi que de toutes les parties prenantes fournit des informations indispensables. Le projet bénéficie ainsi d’un processus de conception et de réalisation plus efficient. Cela ne profite pas seulement à la durée et au coût de construction. Le coût total du cycle de vie peut lui aussi être optimisé de la sorte, comme contribution à un environnement socio-économique durable plus large. L’utilisation de logiciel de dessin BIM renforce et stimule cette approche interdisciplinaire, avec comme résultat final réussi un bâtiment de soin axé sur l’avenir.

VK est membre de l’Ordre des Architectes (OA), de l’organisation flamande des architectes (NAV), de l’American Institute of Architects (AIA), de l’Union des architectes hollandais (BNA), de Designers International (DI), de l’International Academy of Design & Health (IADH) et de G30.