thumb image

Master Planning

Within the social, governmental and political debate on spatial planning, master plans have an important function. Their position between projects and the broader spatial policy plans allows them to combine important characteristics of the higher level (structural plans, mobility plans etc.) and the lower one (projects and potentially local land-use plans as well).

VK Architects & Engineers support boards and organisations in long-term development projects by designing a spatial framework for its future manifestations. This may be done in the form of separate sub-projects with a view to the spatial coherence of the overall plan. Organisations are not fixed entities, but constantly evolving. New targets or strategic choices often entail new needs in terms of land use. As a master planner, VK aims to understand these needs completely in order to arrive at a shared, guiding vision for more concrete and future-oriented results.

The strategic planning of a board or organisation anticipates on the basis of evolving premises. This makes it a ‘living document’ whose patterns are constantly changing. For this reason, we must begin by setting a planning horizon within which growth and extension can be mapped out.

On the basis of strategic planning and the possibilities on site, our urban planners and architects then develop a global, long-term vision for an area or neighbourhood. VK’s aim here is not particularly to confirm a planned or desired end result. It is rather a case of raising and stimulating all kinds of questions. Needs, problems, advantages and opportunities are all mapped out. Various scenarios are proposed with pros and contras.

These basic sketches establish the main outlines for further development and detailed elaboration through programming or design. As a master planner, therefore, VK does not just investigate a planning result, but also certain principles of development and strategies. This process typically begins as a cycle of questions and answers until a number of crucial decisions lead to a subsequent, linear process.

In Healthcare, our urban planners and architects support various care organisations with the master planning of care campuses. A structured, in-depth analysis precedes the ultimate renovation, infill, extension or replacement projects.

In Industry, VK develops master plans for large mixed-use sites, with a combination of logistics, distribution, retail, tertiary services and the accompanying infrastructure. This type of mixed use requires thorough auditing so that the whole becomes more than just the sum of its parts.

thumb image

Plans directeurs

Dans le débat social, administratif et politique sur l’espace, les plans directeurs tiennent une fonction importante. De par leur position entre les projets et les plans d’action d’urbanisme plus généraux, ils combinent des caractéristiques importantes du niveau supérieur (plans de structure, plans de mobilité…) et inférieurs (projets, éventuellement aussi les plans territoriaux d’exécution).

VK Architects & Engineers assiste les administrations et les organisations pour des projets de développement à long terme par la mise en place d’un cadre spatial pour leur réalisation future. Eventuellement sous la forme de projets partiels distincts, sans perdre de vue la cohésion urbanistique de l’ensemble. Les organisations ne sont pas des entités fixes, mais évoluent constamment. Les nouveaux objectifs ou choix stratégies s’accompagnent souvent de nouveaux besoins du point de vue de l’utilisation de l’espace. En tant que planificateur général, VK entend comprendre complètement ces besoins pour arriver à une vision commune et directrice pour des résultats plus concrets et axés sur l’avenir.

La planification stratégique d’une administration ou d’une organisation anticipe sur l’évolution des prémisses. C’est donc un « document vivant », dont les gabarits changent constamment. Voilà pourquoi il convient de définir en premier lieu un horizon de planification dans lequel sont cartographiés la croissance et l’extension.

Sur la base de la planification stratégique et des possibilités sur site, nos urbanistes et architectes développent alors une vision à long terme sur une zone ou un quartier. Ce faisant, VK n’entend pas confirmer un résultat final planifié ou souhaité. Il suscite et stimule plutôt de nombreuses questions. Les besoins, problèmes, atouts et opportunités sont cartographiés. Différents scénarios sont proposés, avec leurs pour et contre.

Ces esquisses brutes fixent les grandes lignes pour le développement ultérieur et la réalisation détaillée par programmation ou conception. Comme planificateur général, VK étudie non seulement un résultat de planification, mais également certains principes de développement et stratégies. Ce processus débute typiquement comme un cycle de questions et réponses, jusqu’à ce qu’un certain nombre de décisions déterminantes débouchent sur un déroulement ultérieur linéaire.

En Healthcare, nos urbanistes et architectes encadrent différentes organisations de soins pour la planification générale de campus de soins. Une analyse structurée et approfondie précède les rénovations, modernisations, extensions ou projets de remplacement finaux.

En Industry, VK élabore des plans directeurs pour de grands sites à affectation mixte, avec un mélange de logistique, de distribution, de détail, de services tertiaires et l’infrastructure associée. Un tel mélange de fonctions nécessite une analyse approfondie, de sorte que l’ensemble devient plus que la somme de toutes ses parties.